Department of Microbiology

Department of Microbiology comprises of the clinical laboratory and academic section. Clinical laboratory is a part of the central laboratory of the hospital, providing round the clock health care service. A well equipped modern laboratory with automated systems carries out routine microbiological investigations in- Bacteriology, Serology, Immunology, Parasitology, Mycology, Virology & TB culture. Keeping pace with modern diagnostic techniques, laboratory has incorporated automated blood culture system and automated identification with drug sensitivity testing of bacterial isolates in its services.

The aim of department will be to provide undergraduate students an understanding of the natural history of infectious disease in order to deal with the etiology, pathogenesis, laboratory diagnosis, treatment and control of infections in the community.

There Is A Separate Service Laboratory Each For

  1. Bacteriology including Anaerobic
  2. Serology
  3. Virology
  4. Parasitology
  5. Mycology
  6. Tuberculosis
  7. immunology.